Grace

The past few weeks, my life has been filled with the need for grace from others and others grace from me. We just returned home from a long family trip where along the way we stayed with a few different people. During one of the stays as someone’s home, one of my chicken nuggets, peed in the guest bed. Yikes and gross. I was embarrassed and doing everything I could to clean up the mess, we even offered to buy a new mattress for our hosts. But as I was struggling through my thoughts of how to handle this situation, the Holy Spirit whispered to my spirit, “Allow them a chance to extend grace.”

I have been asking God to release his divine grace over me, my family, our future, our finance and our nation, three times a day for quite a few weeks prior to this experience. We need God’s miraculous grace in everything we are, in every place we go.

Yes. Miraculous.

I have been pondering how miraculous God’s grace is. We only can begin to comprehend it. We understand that it is by Grace that we are saved. It was by the miraculous gift of Jesus giving his life, shedding his blood, enduring torment and shame and pain in my place. Miraculous….Grace.

I know the meaning of Grace is often left to be only explained by “divine favor extended to one”. When you look it up in the Strong’s Concordance, its number 5485 (in case you want to search it out more) you find this definition:  (a) grace, as a gift or blessing brought to man by Jesus Christ, (b) favor, (c) gratitude, thanks, (d) a favor, kindness.

But when you begin to study the word further in it begins to paint a picture that shows us that when God releases grace that the spiritual condition (person, situation, atmosphere) has to comes under the government of God by the power of his divine grace, thereby causing it to be blessed and favored by God.

STOP: Ponder that for a moment, read it again.

If everything in your life is saturated by the river of God’s grace, then everything….every situation that you face, every part of your life, every person in your family, every moment that you live and breathe will have to shift to being under His authority into the place where his miraculous power of his divine grace rests. And that is where we will see change take place: in His grace, by His grace.

There is not a scripture that better captures the essence behind grace than 2 Corinthians 12:9

2 Corinthians 12:9 (ESV): But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

I have set my alarm on my phone to go off three times a day, in order to pray that the Lord will release a river of Grace over us. Every time my alarm goes off, it seems like everything in my house is about to explode, fighting between my children, etc, but we stop and even my children pray Grace over whoever is on their heart. My three year old often prays when he hears the alarm “Grace over my Nani and Grampa” “grace over momma”.

I have found that in the midst of this, I am more calm, more able to extend grace to my children through the day,  a peace has settled over me. But also, I have had the Lord work out of me several big issues that I was really struggling with and by his grace, he revealed them to me and gave all I needed to overcome them. I am learning that what he gives me today to face, his grace is sufficient for.

I encourage you to join me in asking God to release his Grace over everything in your life. Here is a prayer you can pray:

Lord, Release a river of your grace over my life, over my husband, over my children, over my finances, over _________(situations), over my nation, over my president and his family.

This is just an example make it your own.

May God’s Grace cover you today and everyday,

Lacey Pedersen

Leave a Reply

